My girl, M, has delighted in an adorable caterpillar/butterfly shirt from Target.  This shirt was a gift from my Mom. It has a little pocket with a caterpillar printed inside of it.  It truly is the most precious shirt and she claimed it at once. It has been her very favorite and she loves to wear it.

Today, I was at work in her room and she was reposing in her bed, soothing rumpled emotions. Tear streaked cheeks and sorrow amidst.

Suddenly, I pull this beloved caterpillar shirt out of the basket on my little girls’ dresser.

“How did this get here?!” I exclaim. I was certain sure my girl was wearing this very shirt this very day.

She jumps up from her bed with a gasp and grabs a handful of the shirt that is indeed on her body.

She cries out, “Mommy, it’s twins! It’s twins shirts!”

I laugh!

She laughs.

I never realized we had two of these precious shirts. It had been placed in the basket to keep it for special because we loved it so much and I didn’t realize the one she had been wearing was a second shirt.

She jumps up in excitement and runs with the second shirt in hand- down the stairs to her own twin. Then she puts it carefully in the bag we are packing for Ama’s house. We decide to put both shirts in the bag so the twins can wear the twin shirts at Ama’s.  We pack them both and now she is adorned in a different shirt for this day. A sparkle in the center of a rosette glimmers. She skips away happy.

The Things They Say