This post is long. It is a ramble through part of my journey. I am sharing it because if you are homeschooling high school- there is a wonderful, reputable online option for Advanced Placement courses. These classes are credentialed College Board Advanced Placement classes and this place has a stellar reputation. The College Board provides statistics and students consistently receive 4’s and 5’s on the AP exams who take classes from this online provider.  AP classes translate into a rigorous transcript…and college credit if you attain the appropriate score on the exam. Some colleges accept 3’s on the exam for credit. Pennsylvania Homeschoolers AP Online– for homeschooled students ALL over the world!   – more below. 🙂

It is hard to believe but my first born son will be entering his final year of high school in the fall. Senior Year. It is almost upon us! And already, we have begun prepartions and many plans for this final year.

I am choked with emotions when I try to consider all the things I feel in this season.

I am so grateful for online writers who have gone before me- especially homeschooling sons- because their words have been a help, a community, and a support to me when I have not had an IRL one.

The best advice I received (from online writers 🙂 ) was to seek outside accountability for sons in high school. Yes. This has been so true and helpful for me. Next year, I will have three sons in high school. It definitely helps our relationship and enhances their success to have tutors other than just me. I have also found this is the perfect time for small group class settings. Performing labs with several other students and engaging in strong literature discussions with other students has been great for our sons. I am interested to see how this dynamic will flow in our new venture next year as Micah studies two classes that are asynchronous. More on that later.

I have found that maintaining accountability, support, and guidance counseling to be my important role. Also, providing motivation, support, and the continued call toward excellence is important.

In a season that has, in many ways, been very hard-I want to share that God has been faithful. He has been faithful with every step of the journey and this life. Homeschooling.

A few months ago, I stepped out of my car and onto the pavement of our academic co-op. Actually, I think it was right before Christmas break. My mind was swirling with many different academic thoughts. I was receiving direction to consider AP classes for Micah next year and my mind was spinning these thoughts around.

This was like nothing I had ever done or experienced. 

And then- this thought-

This whole journey has been like nothing you ever did or experienced. Why should this next step be any different?

And, like a soft sigh, a peace settled over me. AP it would be.

I homeschooled Micah from grade 1 until mid-year grade 7 in North Carolina.

We began high school in Maryland. When we lived in North Carolina, I had a possible plan all laid out in my mind. Maryland turned that plan, and many other things!, absolutely upside down and inside out and sometimes, most times I didn’t understand- but I did know I was supposed to walk by faith and I kept making faith-filled decisions even when they didn’t make sense- and especially when they didn’t flow with what other families, other Maryland families, were choosing.

We started utilizing an Academic Co-Op in tenth grade. This was a terrific (even though sometimes hard) decision for us, for sons. We did not and have not utilized the local Community College because other decisions made that choice null and void.

I worried about this. I did and I have. I will not pretend.

Then, this year, around January, vistas started to open before me and the Lord, quite literally, put options for AP classes before me.  And very clearly showed me that my son was ready to take certain subjects and skills to a next, new level.

And so, He has provided a way for Micah to earn college credit, to maintain a rigorous transcript, to be competitive for a selective school (that doesn’t accept all community college courses but will accept these AP courses),  and maybe most importantly, to stretch even further and advance his writing, reading, analytical, and historical skills. He is definitely ready. And so am I. And I am hopeful that, maybe, just maybe, there will be some community there. There will definitely be active minds.

I trust that now is the right time and this is the day and He has worked everything out according to His purpose. I do the best I can with what I have. And I leave everything in His Hands. The provision is for now. The direction is for now. Look forward. Not back.

And Advanced Placement is more than I ever had.

I am still praying my way through the rest of his courses.

-For the Journey!

-Rebecca