I am bustling in the kitchen.
I am spouting off words of great determination and angst. Words about cleaning the house and trying to get things back to order.
I glance into the sink and spy pieces!! of pizza bread now soaked with water. Pizza that was left on little girl plates.

I cry out in loud consternation: “Who put pizza in the sink?”
I am shocked and alarmed by the soggy disarray before my eyes.

Micah is putting away food. Abi is wiping counters. Jonah and Joshua (the ones who I specifically asked to clear the suspect plates) are in the family room as are two small girls who are trying to settle for rests.

Everyone is all denial.

I remember I asked Jonah to clear the plates. Abi and Micah are adamant that it was not them (after they simultaneously accuse one another.)

Abi wipes hard and efficiently across the counter.

“Jonah!”

We look to Jonah.

He is all denial. “I put the plates on the counter!” he declares.

Then- Abi:

“No, you didn’t.”

Then she mutters:

“You are going through rough patch lately.”

She looks at him across the room with graceful practicality. She utters it with great truth and understanding, And she’s right. His head was somewhere else- as it has been often lately.

We all erupt in cascades of laughter.

However, after the uproar-

and everything settles-

we learn the culprit was really Joshua!!! (under the guise of “Jonah told me to do it!”) Jonah told him to clear the plates. Something he does not often do in this particular setting and he just cleared them right to the sink- food and all. It was an honest mistake because he has been told again and again not to put plates on the counter due to a recurring, everlasting ant problem we have in this house.

The Things They Say. Rough patch, indeed.

P.S. Apparently Jonah has been told this one too many times and we will all be exercising consideration and grace by choosing not to speak of this and tell him he is going through a rough patch. However, I loved the grace, comraderie, and understanding my crew extended to each other in this. And I never want to forget the laugh the bubbled through us all. Together.  Because, my girl, she just laid it down with such rock solid insight.

It is her: The Things They Say.