This sweet boy is full of the most exquisite exclamations. I purpose to try to capture more of them for this heart.

This year he earnestly requested to make a special craft for his siblings for Christmas. I wasn’t sure if we were going to be able to make this dream happen. I managed it and he began… and O! he has hugged me so many times since his project kit arrived and whispered thank yous so full of gratitude they make me cry.

I always try to watch The Nutcracker Ballet during the Christmas season. We own it on DVD which makes it affordable every year! This year I discovered the music to be so very soothing. I love to have it playing at times. On a recent night when Todd was out with the older children, we were spending time in the family room and Nutcracker was on. The Sugar Plum Fairy appeared on the scene… and suddenly, Joshua says:

“Wouldn’t you just love to be the Sugar Plum Fairy right now?”

And my heart caught. Why yes, yes I would. Grin. Apparently he thinks the Sugar Plum Fairy is better than Dewdrop. Apparently, I was commenting on the Waltz of the Flowers and he wanted to convince me Sugar Plum was the best. O! the things they say.

Finally, yesterday I present the small children with three sugar cookies that they can decorate themselves. They get to frost them and decorate them with red and green sprinkles.

Joshua took one joyous bite of his cookie and exclaimed, “Mommy, this is an extremely delicious cookie! Thank you for letting us have these!”

His delights are so strong. His expressions so delightful. Please Lord, help me be present enough to see and experience them.

The Things They Say.