headerOur day is still going strong with a rousing game of Lego Champion and children gathered in the family room with Dad while little ones have been tucked in and are sleeping sweetly (finally) after their full and adventuresome day (no nap). And O! how the roars of laughter are making me grin. (update: Joshua is the victor!and the thrill!!)

I am at the computer with a steaming mug next to me (being a complete caffeine rebel as I finish my coffee from earlier this evening- it is a small mug, a tea cup, really. 🙂 )

I have felt tucked deep in, today. Tucked deep and unable to reach out with words. I am grateful for the way the day has rolled and every sweet moment we were able to celebrate from the walk at “our greenway” to the devotions, movies, and music. I am thankful for the memories being crafted round a game table right now and for the serendipitous ideas to put framed words on our dessert table and photo books on the coffee table. (Thinking of you, so much, Elizabeth with those photo books and all you do in and through yours and the testimony of what they mean to your children.) Celebrating with photo books is a strong act of faith for me as there is so much in me that struggles there and has for many years.

I am thankful for the phone call from my brother and the texts and emails from my family. My words are tucked in deep. How I love you and thank God for you!

I am thankful for the encouraging words from a dear son who reads these words here and tells me how much he enjoys it and encourages me to keep on.

Grateful for all the beauty in the midst. This year I learned that I really can create Thanksgiving with only one cook day and a partial clean day. The house wasn’t (isn’t) to the standard I truly prefer and I think this was the source of some of my inward and outward! turmoil. I was very sorrowful and concerned over this change in our routine as for many years we always cooked two full days and cleaned for one. There was no way that could happen this  year. I was sad and worried! I struggled a lot with attitude and temper and fatigue this holiday. I know it is stress related, and I am sorry for that. There were also some rocky teen encounters and some challenging three year old encounters. 🙂 I try to remember that sweetness and relationships are more important and if I can’t reach my desire and standard without having a melt down, I need to let it go. I do. I think this is the source of some of my sorrow and also not knowing how to truly relax in this season (of life and time of year). I feel at odds and unsettled when it is perfectly acceptable to rest and refresh. It is also hard to feel that freshness when a need arises any minute from one of any of my children that requires something of me. Thinking on this…just a little.I have had to let a lot go within this year with balancing a very busy school year and it is hard for me. I am “okay” in the moment, but then when push comes to shove and I am in the thick of it, I struggle with the things I had to let go of. I need to remember the lessons from my pregnancy years. I am remembering…

I am overwhelmingly, astoundingly grateful, thankful, beyond words- yes, speechless with thanks for our good health, the health of the children thus far this year. The life we have been able to live this year so far(full throttle for everyone) and so healthy. When I remember last year, even last year’s Thanksgiving post, I am mute with praise. I know it is the Hepa filter/UV light and I am so thankful.

I have been plagued by unsettled feelings of seasons changing and children growing up. I know I need to keep my focus straight before me where there are precious ones to tend and invest in. I know I need to hold everything with a loose hand before the Lord and it is all good because He is in it. Help me to delight in each one, Lord! Help me to walk with You and follow You!

Every year we refine a little bit… and this year we have added to our routine by creating a breakfast tradition and adding warm cider as a component to our dinner.

Todd brought home the biggest turkey we have ever had Monday night. 26.5 pounds. It had to be squished hard into our roaster and then smoked the house out with a bit of overflowing juice. Almost nixed our walk, but he fixed it and we made it! The deviled eggs took on a luxurious new take as I, with great haste and much generosity, over did the mayo and spicy mustard. They were the very last item I made on Wednesday. I had been cooking all day. I had had one very insistent little helper all day and I had made many recipes with different children (challenging for introvert me). On the last recipe with my wee girl on the chair next to me. Could hardly see what I was doing and just winged it. Thankfully,  everyone liked them. But they certainly are ….different. We didn’t make steamed veggies this year like we usually do. Todd and I casually decided we wouldn’t have pumpkin roll and then learned that this was a very important part of Thanksgiving and that I had told the two children assigned to this recipe(last year) that this year they would get to make it all by themselves. So, we added that back onto the menu. They almost did the entire thing all on their own. Impressive!  I tried to make chocolate pie with the twins again. I was so flustered, I added ingredients in wrong and it was not at all the fun experience it was supposed to be.I also forgot to put that pie out on the dessert table, so as of now, I have no idea how it turned out!  I saved the day for the twins by having them shape the rolls with me. Norah helped with the sweet potato bake this year (along with many other things. Grin. She is a maker and a doer and I think, an extrovert!)

Thanksgiving 2016

Breakfast

Blueberry Cobbler Cake, Fried Eggs

Beverages

Warm Cider, Orange Ginger Mint tea (for me! Perfect after dinner tea! thank you dear Courtney!),Water, Coffee

Meal

Roasted Turkey,Mashed Potatoes,Sweet Potato Bake,Sweet Potato Casserole  (healthified for me),Italian Salad,Cranberry Relish,Holiday Rolls,Deviled Eggs,Broccoli Salad

Dessert

Open faced apple pie, Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie, Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Bars, Pumpkin Roll, Jewish Apple Cake, Chocolate Cream Pie

Micah playing for me

Abi playing for me

Blessed Thanksgiving and Advent dear friends!

-Rebecca