Please excuse the formatting on this post! I have worked on it quite a bit and I can’t get it to appear the way I wish. It looks so nice in my visual editor on WordPress- but it is not at all transferring that way when I preview it. Publishing anyway. ~Rebecca

Daybook- Summer Solstice

Outside my window…

Darkness. Just a wee bit ago, I sat side by side on the porch… with my little boy, watching for fireflies. Tonight began the firefly season for us. He chatters. I listen. The cool night air embraces. The sweet smell of summer rises. The golden lights, flicker. The damp grass, cradles scampering , bare feet. We watch, eagerly, hawk-eyed, for those glimmering lights. And it is quiet. We whisper. Just he and I.

A beautiful moon rising. Abi caught it yesterday – so much better than I did as I tried with my phone. The dusk blue, the brilliant, living glow. Shining light. All the richness of the color so much more than I can capture.
I am thinking…
of poetry, and writing, and children whose hearts need my careful tending, and days spinning by, and rhythm, and priorities, and rest.
I am thankful...
for a blessed birthday weekend with my love, and yummy feasts, and coffee, and talks, and connection. And for seeing and visiting with my own Dad on Father’s Day…
In the kitchen...
it was the best kind of Monday, with leftovers of every amazing food from the weekend.
I am wearing...
Long maxi skirt, light weight sweater, pinkish tee. Headband that has migrated from my head to around my neck. Silver Crocs. Still on my feet from a birthday coffee run. The finale to a sweet weekend celebrating.
I am creating…
this blog, summer grid sheets, summer school plans.
I am wondering…
about the mitigator results… and if we will now stay well for more than two or three weeks.
I am reading…
Poppy by Avi. To myself, so I can talk about it with a young son who has already read it. We both agree- Ragweed is not our favorite. A Tall Son’s writing. One of the books in the Temeraire series so that I can talk about it with a young man who has already read it. Narnia. At night. Getting ready to start the second book in the Over Sea, Under Stone series with my oldest three. Hopefully soon. Still trying to finish Secret Garden. Weeks of illness continually waylay us. For myself, I have a sack of books I cart around in vain hopes of catching a bit here and there. I still (obviously) do not have it figured out.
I am hoping…
for everyone to be all better, that I will be able to remember to try to get some of kind of probiotic into all the children who have been on so many antibiotics, that we will be well, that I will be strong for camp week.

I am learning…

about writing novels through the Great Courses and N.D. Wilson.

I am pondering…
so many different things I can’t think straight. So, I lay face down on the floor and pray.
A quote for today…
“When you’re talking about building your family, it is even more essential to count the cost. You do so because you are willing to pay the price of building,to finish what you begin (Lk: 14:28f). There is a price to pay for building your home and family according to God’s plan, and the cost is especially high for the homeschooling mother.” And more from pages 92 and 93 of Season’s of A Mother’s Heart by Sally Clarkson 1998;2008
A few of my favorite things…
A few plans for the rest of the week:
Well, I have hunkered down a bit on a mission to restore wellness as best as I can for these darlings of mine. I am hoping to reestablish productive rhythm after a week completely waylaid by illness and house issues last week. I have one-one-one times on my calendar and hopefully some Great Courses watching with my oldest boys. I need to look at my calendar and figure it out!
A peek into my day…
She (M) lined up all these books.
 Mellie books
Some things I don’t ever want to forget…
How he(J) wrapped his small strong arm round me and poured out so many lively questions, as we sat, just he and I; how she (E) tucks that small, wee violin under her chin with so much finesse; how they both (A & M)still fit- so perfectly tucked under my chin, rocking on our chair…’for hours and hours’; how kind, and sweet, and good one of our music teachers is with the children; how she(M) said, “I want to go outside and smell the air and pick the flowers…”; the fun we (A and I) had, sitting on the chairs, taking personality tests and talking it over; the perfect way he (N) packs the shopping cart for me; the way we just say the word and he (M) does it; her stealth-like knitting and determination (A); the way he was the best buddy to his little brother during this past week of illness (J). Endless Gifts.