One of the Easter books I read to the children was a little Arch book called He’s Risen! He’s Alive!. The very last page gave a rousing cry to put on a big, happy celebration for Easter- just as we do for Christmas. I have always felt this way- but I think it was fresh in my mind this year as we prepared and I really tried to have it be a feast day- as is our Thanksgiving and Christmas celebrations.

Special Breakfast: Donuts (more on this soon!)…we had multiple different kinds.

Dinner: We had a lovely, lovely meal this year. I would be so happy if this became our traditional meal. The roast was amazingly delicious!

Roast with oven caramelized onions; Mashed Potatoes; Spring Mix Salad with cucumber, red onion, and broccoli; Fruit Salad; and Roasted Asparagus

I completely forgot about the rolls we were supposed to make. Whoops!

Special Treats:

Home-made Coconut Creme Eggs

Home-made Peanut Butter Cups

Marshmallow treats ( a small pretzel stick placed in a large marshmallow, bottom of marshmallow dipped in melted chocolate, then placed in a mini cupcake liner to harden) I used Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips for all melted chocolate/candies.

(donuts!)

In the children’s Love Baskets:

I share this for a good example of how to have a treat filled, dairy and nut free Easter basket… this year, I also had “no special ingredients”… everything was made with items we can purchase at our local grocery stores. This did mean that I didn’t have anything symbolizing “Lamb of God” as I usually purchase that from a special online store. It is okay.

Rice Krispy Treats, Empty Tombs (we make this with our home-made baking powder biscuit dough)… had a sweet time with Joshua making these. He had great fun rolling the large marshmallow in the melted Earth Balance and cinnamon sugar. They turned out the best ever. I know this because of how nicely they removed from their trays and because I fed some of the extras to the little girls today. Everyone else has saved theirs to eat for Monday breakfast.:) Individual packets of Lay’s Plain Potato Chips, Mike and Ike’s, pink tulips for the girls, white for the boys, a golden plastic egg with a special surprise tucked inside.

This year- I reflected a little briefly- but deeply- about buying tulips for our children, my precious ones,… when tulips were the theme and flower of our wedding- which also celebrated new life in Christ…
The tulips are a symbol of much in the baskets and also in my heart.

Ephesians 1:

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ, 4 just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we would be holy and blameless before Him. In love 5 He predestined us to adoption as sons through Jesus Christ to Himself, according to the kind intention of His will, 6 to the praise of the glory of His grace, which He freely bestowed on us in the Beloved. 7 In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace 8 which He lavished on us. (NASB)

( a verse from our wedding… we are two weeks away from a 16th wedding anniversary!)

This year Todd brought home Starburst Jelly Beans- so not only did some of my children get to experience donuts for the first time ever- they also got to eat Jelly Beans! Safe jelly Beans! Whoop!

Happy, happy Easter!