Some Thoughts for St. Patrick’s Day:

1.)I love St. Patrick’s Breastplate and I have been reflecting on it and thinking of it a lot over the last few weeks. I have been praying for a sweet family here and words from this poem/hymn have often come to mind. I share my two favorite parts:

I bind unto myself today
The power of God to hold and lead,
His eye to watch, His might to stay,
His ear to hearken to my need.
The wisdom of my God to teach,
His hand to guide, His shield to ward,
The word of God to give me speech,
His heavenly host to be my guard.

and

Christ be with me, Christ within me,
Christ behind me, Christ before me,
Christ beside me, Christ to win me,
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me, Christ above me,
Christ in quiet, Christ in danger,
Christ in hearts of all that love me,
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.

I shared Saint Patrick’s Breastplate with the children today- which I traditionally try to do around this time every year, and this year I was reminded of a praise song we used to sing all the time many years ago. I just tried to look it up to make sure I had all the lyrics correct. I can’t find it. So, I share here what I best remember:

He Goes Before Me
And He’s Behind Me
He’s Round About Me
He is My Lord (Repeat)

Jesus is the Mighty Lord, Jesus is the King of Kings, Jesus is the Mighty Rock, Jesus is my Lord!

Repeat Chorus

2.) I made Irish Soda Bread for the first time today and all the children loved it and declared it a new tradition. I haven’t made this before because it is traditionally made with dairy(buttermilk) items. So, now I have a recipe to share!

3.) I read this blog tonight (and shared it with some loved ones) and I share it here. I loved it.

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!