Happy New Year! I disappeared completely through Christmas as our family all went down en masse with illness. Truthfully, we are still getting back on our feet with some residual coughs and sniffles, with Christmas STILL up at our house, and with much organizing and paperwork needed to be done.

Here is a new recipe just created by me. It is dairy free but I am sure you could certainly sub dairy items in place of my alternatives. You can also use almond milk, soy milk, or another milk alternative in place of the canned coconut milk. I made this recipe half-size the one I am posting. I doubled the ingredients as I plan to make this for my whole family.

Cauliflower Soup

1 Large Soup Pot

4 Bags Frozen Cauliflower

1 Box Frozen Chopped Spinach, thawed

2 small onions, diced

2 cloves pressed garlic or 1 teaspoon garlic powder

½ Cup Baby Carrots Chopped

1-2 TB Olive Oil

½ Cup Cheddar Daiya Shreds

1 Can Coconut Milk

2 Sausage Links, diced

4 pieces of bacon Chopped

Kosher Sea Salt and Black Pepper to taste

Directions:

Place diced onion and carrots in bottom of soup pot and drizzle with olive oil. Turn on high and begin to cook. Add garlic or garlic powder. Add Bags of Frozen Cauliflower and cook just a bit til starting to steam and almost brown. Fill soup pot with water and bring to a boil. Cook and simmer until cauliflower is soft and tender (about 20 minutes). Season with salt and pepper. Keep pot simmering and remove 1/2 – 3/4 of cauliflower and cream in blender. Pour back into pot. Add daiya, coconut milk, and chopped meat. Swirl in spinach. Season again with salt and pepper to taste.

Serve as is or with crusty home-made bread. Yum!

Blessings!