This tale was retold to me in perfect sweetness.

We head out as a family- to fulfill eye glass prescriptions for two little girls. I head to the eye store with twinnies and a helper. Todd heads out to “see” the mall with the others.

I will spare the details of the eye store venture. One little three year old is done when she’s done and can contrive to make lots of things- a bit difficult. (Ahem) Nothing like two three year olds pulling in opposite directions… except maybe- three… but that is a tale for another mom.

Our eye visit done, we meet back up to head out. Todd had visited the (wonderful) coffee shop and brought back a surprise. And also a memory.

Little Boy gazed all around the shop. Chess Tables and Checker tables were set up everywhere. He gripped his Dad’s hand and said, “Is this for playing Chess?(He is all wonder and interest, wide-eyed.) Do you know who I would want to play with, if I ever learned Chess?” Todd answered, “No, who?” “You!” Little Boy replied… to which Todd responded- “Well, you and I can learn together!”

The Things They Say