DSCN3159DSCN3137 - Copy DSCN3143 - Copy DSCN3150 - Copy DSCN3163 - Copy DSCN3166 - Copy

Our Menu for Posterity with absolutely NO cooking fails and amazing mashed potatoes. Thank you very much. (Wipes brow with relief… those mashed potatoes are always a shake of this and a swirl of that…)

Thanksgiving Menu 2013

Appetizers

Vegetable Platter and Dip

Deviled Eggs

Triscuits and Special Sauce

Pretzel Bowl

Main Course

Roasted Turkey

Home-Made Mashed Potatoes

Sweet Potato Bake

Steamed Corn

Steamed Green Beans

Holiday Cranberry Relish

Coleslaw

Home-Made Rolls with Earth Balance Spread

Desserts

Pumpkin Pie and Whipped Coconut Crème topping (O. My. This was bliss on a spoon 😉 )

Pumpkin Bars

Jewish Apple Cake

Chocolate Chip Pie with Chocolate Ganache

Tofutti Cheesecake with Chocolate Ganache

(We topped with chocolate as that was the children’s request- but next year, I am going to make a Strawberry topping. I think it will be better. Next year, I might also try my hand at some low glycemic desserts.  Hopefully, I will be comfortable with that by then.)

Our day was wonderful; our memories blessed. Aymee and Melodee thoroughly enjoyed their first true taste of Thanksgiving dinner. Plates refilled again and again. Asher worked hard on his infamous Turkey leg.  I took lots of pictures of delectable food- of which I am sparing you, my readers. 😉

We all savored different aspects. For me, our guests brought a sweet centerpiece for our table- which very much blessed me as I forgot to put the items for our fruit bowl centerpiece on the grocery list- and so was “making do”. So lovely. Plus, one of their college age sons is a music composition major- and he literally played several hours of beautiful piano music after dinner. My favorite memory from Thanksgiving night was visiting at the table while beautiful music just filled the house.

Our Cranberry Relish and Sweet Potato Bake remain our token Thanksgiving masterpieces. Chocolate Chip Pie vaulted itself into a new level of holiday belovedness with the addition of Chocolate Ganache.

Today, we lay low and celebrate Asher who turned eleven in the wee hours of the night. Just like so many years ago, when we checked into the hospital at midnight on Thanksgiving and welcomed him into our arms early, early Friday morn.

This is the first Thanksgiving Friday in seven years that Todd has been off of work. I well up with watery gratefulness. I do.

Blessed Weekend.

Rebecca