Scriptures Rising…

Some verses rise. Rise from within.

Not from my mind, that rolls in panic, reels with fear, fights unbelief. Not from my mind that creates plan after plan; problem solver.

They rise, fighting my unbelief, superseding my fragile rationality, my tunnel focus.

(I am very aware that we are full of inconsistencies, weaknesses, even hypocrisy, lack of character that would cast doubt on the Word. Of this I am grieved and ashamed- but it is NOT my righteousness, it is NOT my holiness. He is Faithful To Himself, The Covenant Is with Himself and Himself. Sealed Forever. For Jesus, Through Jesus, Because of Jesus, For His Sake, In His Name. Savior. Amen.)

Here for record, for the start of a new Ebenezer (more on this soon in another post)…

(Emphasis Mine)

Surely Goodness and Mercy Shall Follow Me All the Days of My Life… Psalm 23:6 (goodness and mercy; goodness and mercy; goodness and mercy- the refrain rings)

I have been young and now I am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or his children begging bread… Psalm 37:25  (repeat, repeat, repeat)

For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.  Jeremiah 29: 10-12  (prosper you, not to harm you…prosper you, not to harm you)

When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you shall walk through fire, you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. Isaiah 43:2

Fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you. I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. Isaiah 41:10

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified, do not be dismayed, For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.  Joshua 1:9

I thought these verses were comfort for one scenario and yet as I just spent the time typing each one, I felt strength fill my bones… for another situation that has been dismaying me and in which I battle for justice and righteousness. They are comfort for all.

I realize- I cut myself off from the Comfort of the Lord when I am not open to His Words. Yet, He is so kind, kind… the Words rise through no special choice of my own. It is for good reason He is called the Comforter and is the One to bring to our remembrance all of His Words.

Today I received a message from a dear, dear friend who has battled health crises and illness for years. I was driving down the road pondering her message and blessed by her friendship- and feeling scared. Feeling scared about what ramifications all the stress that has continually assaulted me for the last 8 or more months will have upon my body, Todd’s body. And then I realized, God is not surprised. He has allowed it and I can trust Him. He is not surprised by the circumstances my friend finds herself in and the battle she has fought for years and fights daily- nor is He surprised by me. He knew and I must rest in that.

~Held in His Grace Truly and Learning to be a Warrior for Him~

-Rebecca