Well, I see that it has been exactly one month since I last updated this blog. I am pleased to see that my absence was only a month long- as it has felt much longer to me in the depths of my soul- but also shorter in some ways…in the convoluted way that time has of stretching long and flying fast- sometimes at the exact same time.

I wanted to post my very favorite meatball recipe. I am so happy to have a favorite meatball recipe as for years my meatballs were just… eh. Next up, twins one year pictures. I have hestitated to post these as my little twin A Aymee would not smile and be happy for her one year photos- but I haven’t managed the re-do yet. So- as I told my sister- I will call it: “Keepin’ It Real.”
Plus Investigator turned 11 and Todd had a birthday too.

Without further ado:

Meatballs
9 pounds ground beef
10 eggs
2 2/3 cups oatmeal
1 tsp salt
1 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. garlic powder

Combine Thoroughly.

Form meatballs and place on trays. It is best to place them on a grated roasting pan- but if you don’t have enough (as I don’t) I just am sure to carefully drain them on paper towels afterward. I like to form them tiny using my smallest pampered chef scoop.

Bake at 350 for about 30 minutes or until done (no pink).

(Smaller recipe looks like this: 2 pounds ground beef, 2 eggs, 2/3 cup oatmeal, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp. pepper, 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 3 TB milk substitute or milk or two eggs)

Sauce:
1 1/2 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
4 cups water
4 tsp ginger
2 tsp garlic powder
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
8 TB honey

(or 1/2 cup soy sauce, 1 3/4 cup water, 1 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. garlic powder, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 TB water)

Combine meatballs and sauce in crockpot and heat until bubbling. When bubbling combine 12 TB cornstarch into 2 cups cold water and mix thoroughly. Stir into hot meatballs and let thicken- about thirty minutes.

(3 TB cornstarch, 1/2 cup cold H20)

Serve over hot rice.

These meatballs are so yum I think I can use them for Italian recipes too(without the special ginger/soy sauce of course!!!!) Yay!