I made this Coffee Cake for the first time at my Mom’s on Father’s Day. It is most definitely a treat- as it is full of white flour and sugar!!! Our family delights in special, once a year, recipes- and this one definitely meets that criteria! It is totally yum and a once a year (or so) delight… somewhat like my Cinnamon Roll recipe.

I take a secret, inner delight in the knowledge that the recipe came from Southern Cooking!!! (tee hee).

Here is the original recipe

Here it is “super-sized” for a large family and/or gathering. I did tweak it just a bit.
The larger recipe fits very nicely in two 9 by 13 casserole dishes. How do I know? I just recreated this for my family as we try to get back into the swing of regular life and deal with a sparse refrigerator.

I hope you enjoy this special treat. It is the first “real” coffee cake I have ever made and it truly is the real thing!

Father’s Day Coffee Cake
Ingredients:

Topping:
2 Cups Brown Sugar
1 Cup Flour
1 Cup Margarine
4 teaspoons Cinnamon
Cake:
6 Cups Flour
10 Teaspoons Baking Powder
5 Eggs (beaten)
3 Cups Sugar
1 1/3 Cups Melted Margarine
2 Cups Rice Milk
4 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract
Preparation:
Mix Together Topping Ingredients in a small bowl.
Mix Flour and Baking Powder together. In Large bowl, mix beaten Eggs, Margarine, and Sugar. Beat well. Add Rice Milk and Vanilla. Stir in Flour and Mix Well.
Pour Batter into greased Pyrex dishes. Two 9 by 13s or one large and one small. Sprinkle crumb topping over top of batter. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until done.

Enjoy!!