Easter Love Baskets

Easter Love Baskets, a new tradition…
Ephesians 5:15-16
New International Version (NIV)
15 Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, 16 making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

This Scripture came to mind when I was pondering creating these Easter baskets. I want to make the most of every opportunity to minister to my children and impress God’s love and truth upon their hearts. Easter is a wonderful opportunity to love my children in Christ’s name and for His sake. Our house is currently very cluttered and messy. This made me want to focus on cleaning and not on preparing gifts for the children. But then I remembered- my children will remember the memory and love of this day. They will not remember the clutter and untidiness and what memories and images did I want to impress upon their hearts and minds? I chose love.

I attached a Scripture to each of the main ingredients in their baskets. I also thought about a meaningful Scripture for each child and printed it and handwrote an encouraging note on the back. A dear friend of mine was kind enough to share some things with me about their Easter baskets and celebrations and I felt inspired in the Lord.

Our “main ingredients”
Empty Tomb Biscuits
Matthew 28:5-7 But the angel said to the women, “Do not be afraid, for I know that you seek Jesus who was crucified. He is not here, for he has risen, as he said. Come, see the place where he lay.”

Lamb of God Chocolate
John 1:29 The next day he (John the Baptist) saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!”

Tulips- Beautiful New Life In Christ
2 Corinthians 5:27 Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold the new has come.

Tasty Homemade Peanut Butter Cups
Jeremiah15:15
Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart, for I am called by your name, O Lord, God of hosts.
Psalm 119:103 How sweet are your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!

Golden Eggs to Remind of us of the Precious Gift Christ is- we need only to receive Him!
Romans 6:23 For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

I was very pleased with their beauty, simplicity, and meaning. I also made homemade peanut butter cups for our children this year- and they were so easy and delicious!! They are so much more healthful than the store-bought alternative. They are also safe for our food allergies! 🙂 They are definitely a new tradition.

Happy Easter! Blessed, Blessed Resurrection Day.
~Rebecca~