43.)Wrapped in cloud in early morning, wrapped in those boas round our house, a garland of grace? An ornament like no human can forge? I feel cloaked in quiet. It presses in and presses out.
44.)Her hair…
45.)How their coos are the music of my heart
46.)How nicely she fills my arms and scrunches, a pleasant, squishy bundle
47.)How, with these twins, it gets better and better as now they start to engage a bit more with each other… will I experience twin talk, too?
48.)Something so inherently nutritious about home-made soup and how that smell of onion and garlic- pressed in the press, sliced under my knife- just rises. Sinus clearing goodness.
49.)Thankful that I can make that home-made chicken soup I dreamed of so long ago when first son rolled within and I fought viral sickness… I cut onions and carrots and chicken and thought- I will make this home-made soup for my children. I will make it when they are ill. I will make it for their comfort. And then there was a season of long years when I couldn’t make that home-made soup- because it wasn’t healing and nutritious at all for a precious one in our home… and now- one step at a time- chicken broth is once again our friend and O- how we are enjoying all things home-made with chicken. I thank You, Lord. I thank You for home-made chicken soup and broth on my stove, and chicken pot pie and chicken and dumplings and chicken soup with rice and how I just crack
50.)the eggs right into that broth, one after the other- just like we did when I was a kid…I thank You, Lord. Thank You.
51.)Watching the same 10 years of Thomas with my 5th 3 year old son… O, the memories.
52).I debate and ponder… just a few minutes tacked on to a quick library run… is it worth it? Will it bring that sense of refreshment I am yearning for?… I go for it… 15 minutes, a hot, hot, hot drink, and some words- alone, in quiet dark, with a streetlight shining… My heart turns over with the beauty of the poetry, my mind stretches with language and thoughts. I drive home, refreshed. I flash back to round table Lehigh discussions and that illuminating light that just- would always- shaft within. The elixir of mind sharpening mind…I am so glad I chose those minutes. –Grace minutes-
53.)I learn a new word (sycophantic- and my, what a word…I have to look up sycophant just to really- get it- Definition of SYCOPHANTIC
: of, relating to, or characteristic of a sycophant : FAWNING, OBSEQUIOUS
Definition of SYCOPHANT
: a servile self-seeking flatterer. Whoa!
…… and I read writing, which unashamedly wields vocabularly that baffles me. Searching for my dictionary… I sigh. There is no shame in wielding a word well.
54.)Flashback I think of my brother and how we once discussed Truth with a capital T and truth with a lowercase t. Jesus is Truth, Capital T, all else is a reflection, a shadow, a lowercase t, truth. Still worthy, those echoes point to Christ. Thankful for this precious to me brother…
55.)The last Friday night in January… thankful.
56.)His lightly bearded cheek, all mine
57.)His voice, reading to me, inimitable C. S. Lewis. Love. And my mind lights up, synapsing from written word to heart-caught thought. And then… we talk a bit.
58.)Enjoying the sight of nine year old son, tucked up on the couch, reading for school…
59.)The turning of the calendar page… it’s February… and the wintry scene depicted belies these Carolina Days… will we have a real snow… I wonder?
60.)6:06 p.m. and daylight still lingers… it is still light out! Truly, we have “turned the corner…” o- happy lifting light…
61.)Deep sigh of satisfaction at the close of a truly delightful fairy-tale of a book that kept me smiling and I even laughed, too.
62.)Coming home to her… and how she curls in my arms and stares up at me with a beautiful blue eye while tucked in the crook of my arms…
63.)Their sweet baby smell… inhale it deep.
64.)How he brings me the first yellow daffodil, in January, and I put it in water and it gets tucked away on the counter… my glance finds it fading away- a grace remembered…
65.)How he jumps into my arms and holds on…
66.)Both babies find their toes on the same day, at different times and chew adorable…
67.)I sit with my big girl and Little Boy and read The Princess and the Kiss and how she cries out at the very last page, “O! I wish it wasn’t over!”
68.)How he says, “Let’s go out Mommy and catch that sweet sunshine breeze…” and then a little while later, biking contemplatively on the deck, “I’m becoming grown-up.”
69.)How they love belly time on Big Brother’s leg…
70.)The way the light shines on her brown velvet fuzz and how it rumples in my hand just like velvet… she is just so deliciously soft.
71.)Our January Hymn of the month- Be Thou My Vision and how we make connections in our devotional and Praise Baby DVD- together.
72.)The way she rubs her fist in the heavenly fleece I am wearing and then grips it in her tiny fingers and later- cuddles close.
73.)A strong sense of peace and the Lord’s Presence in the midst of worship music filling the Great Room. I soak.
74.)How littlest brother needs to know the name of each train and biggest brother knows each one. He names them for little one. And I remember Tall One’s bright, inquisitive wonder…
75.)How she watches him, her daddy, twinkle in her eye, smile curling round her fingers
76.)Twin time with my girls at their 6 month well visit- and I so enjoyed… and they were – Baby A- 26.5 inches and 16 pounds 15 ounces, Baby B 26 inches and 17 pounds 5 ounces. Shew!
77.)Sweet Sunday, again, and the strong sense that kitchen work is a type of art. Colors, Creating.
holy experience