I first encountered part of this poem in the book by Marilyn Boyer: Parenting from the heart.
I was pondering it while I rocked our twins and went searching for it in several places. I found the quote in her book to be just an excerpt- and was quite shocked when I discovered it in its entirety. Simply- because it is so absolutely fitting for this season of my life. I absolutely feel like my house is shocking sometimes and I am completely in love with my two blue-eyed wonders. O the bliss of this season of motherhood! O the hullabaloo that can occur amonst the rest of the crew! Having been so blessed with eight precious babies- and now having the seasoned experience of big children who are no longer babies- I am so very aware of how fast it all does go. “Babies don’t keep…”

I was at a meeting the other night and a sweet seasoned mother encouraged me again with this poem. It is hard to rock guiltlessly- but o how important it is to form strong bonds with children.

So- here it is: “I’m rockin’ my baby and babies don’t keep…”

Mother, O Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing, make up the bed,
Sew on a button and butter the bread.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She’s up in the nursery, blissfully rocking.
Oh, I’ve grown as shiftless as Little Boy Blue,Lullaby, rockabye, lullaby loo.
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peek-a-boo
The shopping’s not done and there’s nothing for stew
And out in the yard there’s a hullabaloo
But I’m playing Kanga and this is my Roo
Look! Aren’t his eyes the most wonderful hue?
Lullaby, rockaby lullaby loo.
The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.
– Ruth Hulbert Hamilton