Earth’s crammed with heaven, and every common bush afire with God: But only he who sees, takes off his shoes; … Elizabeth Barrett Browning from Aurora Leigh

But only he who sees… this ground is holy. Take off your shoes. You are in the very presence of God.

A way of seeing
Inner heart eyes
Blink open
peering
Perhaps the fragile veil flutters a bit

For only he
Who sees.

I saw a tree yesterday
Every branch flamed out in color.
Like a fan
Gold, Crimson, Leaf Green, Rust
Every… every branch
Flamed
Strong
Stretched tall
So perfect in
Its beauty
And
Its form.
How can something so perfectly
Beautiful
Just
Be.
Just be there-
A free
Offering.
It was
And
My breath
Caught
a bit
at the sight
sucked deep
expand ribs.
Feast eyes.
Soak the
Fleeting beauty.

This is the most beautiful autumn I have experienced here in the mountains. Such an amazing year of weather we have had- with a severe winter and a wet spring/summer… tornados and all… then thirty degree night-time weather just on the cusp of October…it all seems to have worked together to produce the most generous display of color I have ever seen. There is so much red and orange just popping out everywhere in the midst of the yellows and gold. The fire reds… they flame. I desperately long to be a better photographer with a better camera and lenses… to try to capture what I really see with my inner eye. I know true, gifted photographers capture with even their cell phone cameras- so it must just be a lack in me… but I long anyway… We probably have three weeks or so left of this beauty. I am thinking of what I can do to maximize it for our family… Every common bush does truly seem afire with God. Right now.
It is amazing. I wish I knew where I could take the children and plop down babies in car seats and my tired self on a blanket and let them just enjoy and run safely. A picnic would be so fun…