We have had an unexpectedly adventurous Memorial Day Weekend.

We planned to move through our standardized testing this weekend- and indeed, we did get through some of it…but…
(we will be finishing next weekend)

Saturday night found me dealing with surprisingly strong contractions and little sleep. I dread the pain I experience when I get out of bed- so I chose that night to attempt to stay on the couch. I just couldn’t stand the thought of facing that pain… it wasn’t long before I realized contractions were waking me up on that couch. Ugh! A little reflection and I realized I was very, very dehydrated. So I began downing the water and monitoring the contractions… which then dissipated- but were still alarming. Sunday found me feeling very sick and exhausted. We decided I would basically be “bedrest” that day to get back to normal (knowing if this didn’t work- calling the doctor was the next step). Thankfully, this did indeed work- but shortly after Todd and the kids came home from church- our next unexpected scenario occurred. The kids were outside playing baseball while lunch was heating up. Asher was hit in the face(with a plastic bat) and chipped a tooth. A call to our pediatric dentist was in order. This led to Todd and our four older children taking a three hour round trip exursion to have his tooth capped. I must have sounded really “out of it” on the phone- for the dentist remarked to Todd(when he was there) if I was okay… which led to him sharing that I was eight months pregnant and he had been handling the injury- I was just placing the call. Dentist kindly asks, ‘So what are you having?” to which Todd replies “two girls”… ah! now he(dentist) understands…I was really out of it though. Not feeling good…

Last May- which I realized I didn’t blog about- found us in the emergency room three different times. Two children got stitches. First time ever for stitches in our family. I had been pondering that we seemed to leave May behind this year- unscathed. Ha! Still it has been mild, thank You, Lord. So- this year- a broken tooth is May’s token of remembrance. Thankfully it broke above the nerve line and he did great with the procedure. We love, love, love our dentists here. They are truly awesome- even if they are so far away. We usually just drive an hour… but after hours emergency- we had to go “to the city.” Just like Katy-No-Pocket. They have what we need in the city. (I digress…)

In true Borger fashion- we feasted today (Monday). Even though I am out of commission and still resting up to be strong for the week- a most delicious feast was prepared by Todd. The man cooks, he rubs feet with cream, he takes a three year old to the potty every half an hour, he brings ice and water to his wife, he coupon cuts and bargain grocery shops… wait, did I mention that he cooks. He really, really cooks well. He is bringing up sons after him, too, in this family way.

Memorial Day Dinner courtesy of Todd
Memorial Day Dessert courtesty of three oldest sons

Old Fashioned Hamburgers
Green leaf lettuce
Todd’s special home-made fries
Sauteed/stir fry broccoli
Fruit cocktail

Borger Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Remembering those who served…
particularly my very own Grandad and
PopPop John.