Endless Gifts
Otherwise known as a small gratitude journal, quiet “quick” shots of God’s grace in my life. As my youngest brother said to me, “God is unchanging. He never changes. It is us that are cyclical and we move through seasons. He is always the same. Everywhere. ” He is.

1.)The sound of a “just waked up little boy” playing quietly happy in his crib before the start of the day…
2.)A Holy Experience– which somehow- helps me find myself when I feel lost, sometimes
3.)An unexpected birthday card
4.)An unexpected gift, with an unexpected note. Sweet friend, I appreciate you and your precious, praying girls.
5.)A bouquet of multi-colored lilies from my brother. Delivered on my birthday- and still they bloom. Beautiful. And their beauty lifts my heart. And his generosity and love stills me quiet.
6.)These words from an old Keepers At Home… “Make a habit of noticing and treasuring little bits of beauty scattered throughout your day…God is a master artist! Notice how He uses color, texture, scents, and sounds to creaty beauty. Let’s make a habit of noticing and thanking Him for His handiwork…As wives and mothers we can paint much beauty onto the canvas of our family. We need to imitate God and creaty beauty for them. Ladies, we need to drink from the Well of Beauty each morning if we hpe to imitate Him in our own life…There is so much beauty in kindness. Let each one of us seek for ways to bring beauty into the lives of our family and others we meet on the path of life.“ by Mirian Wengerd, Keepers at Home Volume 17, Issue 4, Winter 2009. She ends with, “Shine for Him!” Yes. Yes. Yes.
7.)A sweet Christian friend who delivers to my door on my hardest day- a bountiful, bountiful meal- and provisions- silverware, plates, glasses. And she even brings me ingredient lists. Right on my radar. We all open eyes amazed. And even more than the generous care- the opportunity to point my children to Jesus and show His tangible love. Thank you. Thank you with all my heart. Eyes tear. Also just to see her smiling face. We all light up.
8.)Twin girls growing in the womb. We all start to wrap our minds around pink bundles. More and more. Amazing blessing(s), God- I thank You.
9.)Pansies- sweet faces blooming. Lift my heart- when all I can see is the mud on one of our plots and the trailer that needs organizing. 😉 How sweet to see their purple, white, yellow faces blooming.
10.)Our fireplace. We are still having issues with our heat pump- and our large stone fireplace- the centerpiece of the Great Room has been warming hearts and bodies lately. And even I have gotten moderately good at keeping it going and layering the fuel.
11.)Art and Sculpture that feeds the mind and soul. I just can’t bear to replace the Rembrandt- so we are going to set up a smaller “gallery” downstairs to rotate artists several times a year. Next up Van Gogh and then maybe Cassatt… we’ll see. But the Rembrandt is staying put. WillowTree Demdaco- carefully chosen pieces gathered over years- memorializing. Bright family photographs in frames. A local artist who paints our mountain glory and two small framed prints on my walls.
12.) Vinyl wall lettering. I love it. I love it when its Scripture, especially.
13.)The Word. It never returns void. And right now my mind grasps aimlessly trying to recall specific words that have fed me this week. I can’t. But I know they did… 😉
14.) And I cannot forget- the sweet, sweet delight of my two year old’s chirping voice as he repeats Scripture with Daddy almost every night at family bible. Precious, precious, precious and how my heart melts and smiles and I can’t stop the grin when I hear him. How is he big enough to say all those hard words of whatever verse his turn lands upon? Yet he does. He does.
15.)O yes, and the dear sweet lady I met this morning at a different church who took the time to talk to my children. Proclaimed to me with precious sincerity how much she loves children, and also proceeded to praise Todd and I for how we have raised them thus far. Her words, they were precious, and they fed my soul and I prize them. Thank you.

holy experience