This was a new and special dish this year and Little One called it “honey” all day and he loved it and he gobbled every bite. Adorable.
And my girl adored it too. It was a wonderful success! This is our own recipe. I searched sweet potato recipes last night after a last minute SOS to my beloved sister failed. So many recipes were “Grandma’s Own Special Sweet Potatos” and so on… so I joked after our meal today- that this would be the Grandma recipe of our family… when I’m a Grandma- I’ll be passing down my sweet potato secret…;) Course Todd had to embellish it with a whalloping ole “Grandma Borger” and that threw me… not quite at the Borger part I guess. Grandmas have different names in my life right now…

So- I searched recipes, and then we created our own- and we added four eggs (one recipe I saw had three) cause we LOVE eggs. 🙂 and I thought- if it makes the pumpkin cake so nice and the pumpkin pie so nice… it can only help this dish- plus after sampling it BEFORE eggs we agreed- it needed a little more oomph. So-

Voila!

Here it is:

Sweet Potato Bake with Marshmallows
Ingredients:
6- 8 Large Sweet Potatoes
½ cup brown sugar
1 TB maple sugar
½ cup vanilla soy milk
2 TB margarine
1 TB vanilla
1 ½ Tsp. cinnamon
4 eggs
2 bags marshmallows
Cook 6 – 8 Large Sweet Potatoes on Low in the Crockpot overnight. Peel skins and cook in about 8 cups of water.
Grease a 9 by 13 baking dish.
Mash sweet potatoes and add sugar, syrup, soy milk, margarine, vanilla, and cinnamon. Whip nicely using a wire whisk, fork, etc. Beat in four eggs.
Layer half of sweet potatoes in dish. Layer one bag of marshmallows. Layer the rest of the sweet potato mixture. Top with marshmallows.
Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.