Butterflies (from 9/12/2010)

Today when we arrived home from church- a giant swallowtail brushed by our car…
I watched it
Seemingly float
Gently
Toward
Our butterfly bush.

As I got out of the car-
Caught in butterfly wonder-
I noticed more-
Seeming to
Drift
Seeming to
Fall
Like the soon
Twirling leaves
Cascading down
From the sky.
Butterflies.

Slowly, I walked, with Little One in tow-
Toward our bush-
Watching butterflies
Drift from the sky…
Counting at least ten
Drinking hungry
On our bush…
At least five were
The beautiful black
Swallowtails…
Golden swallowtails hovered
And little
Butterflies too.
They caught the breeze and soared across our yard,
Floating in the air,
Landing on the trees,
Landing on the bush.
They seem to fall from the sky like
Leaves.
But
Then
Suddenly
Their life
Flies
Forth.

I wondered if they have begun their fall migration…

Even so.
Beautiful.
Butterflies.
Floating gently.
Fly.