We have been spending a lot of time on our deck lately. It is an ideal place. I can sit in a chair, read home school catalogs and The Well-Trained Mind. The children can ride big wheels, push bubble mower, enjoy fresh air. Sometimes they get a little “overactive” on their bikes. We have two bikes and they are usually careening at top speed up and down the deck with a variety of different children taking turns.  A day or so ago- we were out together. I was nose deep in a home school book. Little one was cuddled up against me, probably in protection of his life, in the face of the rapid rides racing up and down. Suddenly, Tenderheart appears on the scene.  Before I realize what is going on, he is outfitted with sticky notes and pen and is rapidly handing out “tickets” to speeding children. The more they speed and “bump”, the more severe and dramatic the ticket.  I deep smile inside.  This sweet child- he is my rule enforcer. He dots his i’s and crosses the t’s and he notices every inconsistency.  A perfect policeman- he made- to the deep, deep delight of his siblings- and the consternation of me- his Mama- as I noted the rapidly dwindling sticky note pad.  It had to end- but it is a meaningful memory.  A few firm words from me settled the rapid racers, ended the sticky note extravagance, and brought us all inside.  I smile wide at how appropriate a role it was for this dear son and how the riders truly were in need of tickets.  Some things- I notice not- but this one, this son- he does. His siblings were in need of a little “check” toward their hectic racing and his lithe sense of humor rose to the challenge. 

Open my eyes, Lord! Help me to see…