Thematic Book Baskets

This year- my eyes were opened to the beauty of fireside reading

and the place of the hearth in family culture.

After the launch of our very first fire this winter- I started to envision

our hearth as a place of beauty and inspiration.

This naturally morphed into me securing a sturdy, lovely

basket to hold seasonal and holiday books.

I love literature and it is a primary source for my

ministry to my children. I have been collecting “sets” of books

for special holidays since my oldest were wee little ones.

Over the years, as school as gotten busier in our household,

I have felt saddened that we were not enjoying some of these books as much as I desire.

A beautiful picture book is indeed a work of art. It can elevate the mind and heart to noble thoughts

and encourage toward good deeds. It can give space to think deep thoughts for God and soothe the soul

in taking a quiet moment to peruse.

Quality literatures also serves as a golden cord that binds our hearts together

in mutual experience and understanding.

Enter- the thematic book basket!

I just began this practice and have filled our basket with our treasured Easter holiday books.

It has been sweet to see my children wander over to the small red chairs and sit, at different times,

and pick up something interesting.

I put a book or two in for adult reading as well- and vary the books to provide different interesting reading.

A book basket can be a thing of beauty, reflect the spirit and mood of home, and welcome seasons and

the holidays of our faith in a visual, tangible, and practical way. It gives me great joy to keep our hearth neat

and our books orderly.

I think the book basket can serve as a helpful organization tool for literature based learning.

I am planning on utilizing mine for holidays, seasons, and special topics of interest.

Here is a list of what is in our Easter basket right now:

For Little Ones:

The Story of Easter Board book by Patricia A. Pingry

The Parable of the Lily board book by Liz Curtis Higgs

The Easter Story by Patricia A. Pingry

The Life of Jesus by Pamela Broughton

The Coming of the Holy Spirit Arch Book

For slightly bigger little ones

all of the above and:

Jesus Loves Me illustrated by Tim Warnes

Easter Eggs for Anya by Virginia Kroll

Sing A New Song: A Book of Psalms by Bijou Le Tord

Miss Fannie’s Hat by Jan Karon

The Legend of the Sand Dollar by Chris Auer

The Easter Story by Brian Wildsmith (Beautiful, beautiful book!)

For school age children:

all of the above and:

The Story of Easter by Christopher Doyle

The Very First Easter by Paul Maier

He is Alive! by Helen Haidle

The Miracles of Jesus Dover Stained Glass Coloring Book

Tell Me The Story of Jesus by V.Gilbert Beers

and for the grown-ups:

Jesus, Keep Me Near The Cross edited by Nancy Guthrie 

Be blessed! ~Rebecca