I was back at church today. Back after weeks- maybe even a month away due to family sickness. And I was reminded again- what a means of grace the local church truly is.

23Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. 24And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, 25not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. Hebrews 10 ESV (italics mine)

There is something special about being gathered together to hear the preaching of the Word and worship the Lord. Some-One is there in a very special way- in and through His people.

20For where two or three are gathered in my name, there am I among them.” Matthew 18 ESV

I was so-freshly aware- of this today- having been away from fellowship for so long and in desperate need of grace. He did not disappoint. No indeed- it was, rather, water for the thirsty, bread for the hungry, light warming darkness…grace, grace, grace… for the receiving. And I, I turned up my face. I basked in His Light, I drank from the well, I fed on the bread… grace.

It was sweet to be in the corporate Presence of the Lord. It was sweet to be with the family of believers, read from the Word, drink from the cup… feel life that is found in God.

4 In him was life,and the life was the light of men. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. John 1 ESV

– I am glad, glad to head into my week with this undergirding strengthening me.

This caused me to ponder- to be even more motivated-to organize my time for daily Bible reading and prayer. These are a means of grace, too.  I need all the grace I can get…

~Rebecca