With all these homeschool thoughts swirling round my mind… with Valentine’s Day soon upon us… and with several timely blog posts tucked into my google reader (links at the bottom)… my heart is prompting, “Love.”

It is so easy for me, in the duties and stresses of my day, to focus on the extremities. On the miscellaneous. Even on the checklist I appreciate so much. And discard the love: the heartbeat, the pulse, the connection of our home.

I am choosing, by God’s grace, to make Love my first priority in my days with my children. It is a mighty choice. It is a difficult choice. I pray, in grace, that I can choose well- daily. Choose Love.

1 John 4
7Beloved, let us love one another, for love is from God, and whoever loves has been born of God and knows God. 8 Anyone who does not love does not know God, because God is love. 9In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. 10In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. 11Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. 12 No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us.

Checklists matter, math matters, a clean bathroom and food on the table matters. My kids need all of these things. They really do. But deep down, what they really need- what colors their days and what is shaping their future is: Love. Are they experiencing my care for them? Am I encouraging them in God’s care for them? Am I focusing on their hearts and my relationships with them? Or am I just trying to “get it all done.” Some days I am. And some days- I am just trying to make it through. And some days, I stop. I breathe. I am there- all there- with them… in that moment- they need. And God is there. Love is there.

I want to walk in love.

Places to go for more thoughts about love:
The Boyers
I Take Joy
Holy Experience