After writing my blog post about my passion for books and developing a heritage library, maintaining reading lists, etc. I found myself in the Word. I have been spending slow time in 1 John.

This succinct verse stopped me short and caused me to ponder.

“Little children, keep yourselves from idols.” 1 John 5:21 ESV.  O- the tenderness of those words… little children

And… keep yourselves… I must take my part of the responsibilty to guard and watch my heart.

And the note:Keep yourselves from idols means keep yourselves from trusting, obeying, revering, following- that is-in effect, worshiping-anyone or anything other than God Himself, and His Son Jesus Christ. (ESV note on 1 John 5:21)

I consider myself warned. My passion for books (or anything else for that matter) must never override my passion for the Lord. In this I see my need for grace- for my heart is prone to wander…

O to grace how great a debtor
daily I’m constrained to be!
Let thy goodness, like a fetter,
bind my wandering heart to thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
prone to leave the God I love;
here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
seal it for thy courts above.”

third stanza of one of my favorite hymns… Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing