My heart has gone again, lately, in remembrance of this sweet, familiar passage from Elizabeth Prentiss’ book: Stepping Heavenward.

I have this passage framed somewhere- still packed in a box from our move from PA. It is meant to hang on our wall in our bedroom. In another portion of her book, she writes that every home should be adorned with children like flowers adorn a meadow. I will try to look that up later! (found it-read it here…)

Indeed- each child is precious, unique- like a beautiful flower, crafted by the Lord for His own good, hope-filled purpose.

–from pages 228-229–

 “Here is a sweet, fragrant mouth to kiss; here are two more feet to make music with their pattering about my nursery.

Here is a soul to train for God; and the body in which it dwells is worthy all it will cost, since it is the abode of a kingly tenant.

  I may see less of friends, but I have gained one dearer than them all, to whom, while I minister in Christ’s name,

 I make a willing sacrifice of what little leisure for my own recreation my other darlings had left me.

Yes, my precious baby, you are welcome to your mother’s heart,

welcome to her time, her strength, her health, her tenderest cares, to her lifelong prayers!

 Oh, how rich I am, how truly, wondrously blest.”

Our little Joshua does indeed “patter round” our home with little running steps, waving his brand new wave to Daddy, daily speaking new words to delight my heart…

I could write a blog post just on the aspect of this passage referring to godly sacrifice. The sacrifice I must make to fulfill God’s will, obey His Word, and give my strength to raise my children for Him. Sometimes the heart faints in the face of the sacrifice, the enthusiasm grows cold… sins grow up and tangle the sweet, fragrant garden. It becomes a bed of weeds and bracken.  Sometimes loneliness steals the passion. Failure clouds the vision.

Help me, Lord. Help me make the sacrifice.

Help me, Lord. Help me to train each one for You.

Help me, Lord. Refresh, renew my vision.

I am desperate for Your grace. I am a failure in my flesh. Help me live for You.

I want to live for You.