These words from Laura Ingalls Wilder really “spoke” to me this week. Facing challenges requiring perserverance and endurance… it can be hard to carry on at times and press through.

“Well, Laura! You are a schoolteacher now! We knew you would be, didn’t we? Though we didn’t expect it so soon.”

“Do you think I can, Pa?” Laura answered. “Suppose… just suppose… the children won’t mind me when they see how little I am.”

“Of course you can.” Pa assured her. “You’ve never failed yet at anything you tried to do, have you?”

“Well, no,” Laura admitted. “But I…I never tried to teach school.”

“You’ve tackled every job that ever came your way,” Pa said. “You never shirked, and you always stuck to it till you did what you set out to do. Success gets to be a habit, like anything else a fellow keeps on doing.” -From These Happy Golden Years  by Laura Ingalls Wilder (pgs 2-3) emphasis mine.

What are your challenges this week?

In our family, we are home schooling; seeking to impart godly heritage and raise/train six young children for God; pressing through a very hard graduate tax course for Todd;  adjusting to tax season(our 4th year!) in the tax software industry; and living life for God in WNC.

I am hoping to “never shirk but stick to it until I do what I have set out to do.”

In His Grace

~Rebecca