I have long been wanting to write an entry about music. I have had the most amazing, precious experience with the Lord thru the ministry of quality Christian music in the last year.

Come with me- thru “snapshots” of time….

It is late winter/spring ‘09. Out of six children- four are significantly sick with influenza (two strains no less), one has the added complication of asthma, and one is just a wee babe- less than a year old. The stress ramps up. The days are long. The worry is consuming. The watching- incessant. I “feel” so far in my flesh… so distant from the Lord-…

It is tax season and I am alone- a lot.

Suddenly- my soul “tunes” in to some songs– playing in our home. It is Steve Green- it is one of the “Hide ‘Em in Your Heart” CD’s. “When I am afraid, I will trust in You, I will trust in You…” It was instant ministry. The Holy Spirit connecting His Heart to mine. I will never doubt the power of those CD’s- ever…. The sweet, pure innocence of those precious children lifting their true voices in worship to God. The faith and belief inherent therein. It caught me. It raised me. It held me in His grasp. I was not… I am not… alone. He was with me. He is with me. He was there- thru influenza, sick children, and tax season. It was “good medicine” for my soul.

“A cheerful heart is good medicine.” Proverbs 17:22 (NIV)

Since that time- that particular set of CD’s (volume one and two) has continued to minister to me. At times- catching me off guard- as it is lifting me up and encouraging my heart.

It causes me to reflect on this very real power in music. We would be very wise to consider our way in this important area- recognizing this strong influence. The power to lift us up to the Lord or play chords of longing in our emotions. It is best to be gripped by God’s Word and His Truth.

Hear my son, and be wise, and direct your heart in the way. Proverbs 23:19 ESV

It is also ministering to choose beautiful classical or instrumental music to play through the home.

Splendor and majesty are before Him. Strength and beauty are in His sanctuary. Psalm 96:6 ESV

It is late winter. The table is set. Favorite foods are prepared. The cinnamon rolls and ham slices are laid decoratively on the plates. George Winston’s “December” fills the air. Children smile. Basking in Mommy’s love. Happy in good food on their plates. Soothed by beautiful piano strains wafting through our home. We enjoy our table- embraced in His Beauty. Beauty points us to our “Beautiful One” … the beautiful One we adore…

It is Family Bible. We are all gathered together around God’s Word. Asher picks, “Beautiful One” by Tim Hughes. We sing together. Small children 8,7,6,4,and 3 singing their hearts out…singing to their King.

“Wonderful so wonderful is Your unfailing love

Your cross is spoken mercy over me

No eye has seen, no ear has heard, no heart can fully know

How glorious, how beautiful You are

Chorus:

Beautiful one I love

Beautiful one I adore

Beautiful one my soul must sing”

Another “snapshot…” The day has been long. The children have struggled. There has been lots of school and squabbles and chores. I am worn and weary. I choose Robin Mark’s “The Days Of Elijah.” Worship pours through our home. My heart lifts. I praise, ” No- not by might. Nor even power. But by Your Spirit, O Lord. Healer of hearts, binder of wounds…” (sung by Robin Mark on “The Days of Elijah” CD.) I send them out to play. They return. There is a palpable Presence in the home. Spirits are sweetened. Hearts are soothed. Smiles return. We worship.

“We see the Lord and He is high upon the throne

and His glory fills the heavens and the earth…

so I cast my crown before Him and bow down and praise…

for everything cries Holy,

everything cries Holy, everything cries Holy

to You, Lord…

We see the Lord

and He is high upon the throne

and His glory fills

the heavens and the earth. ”

(Everthing Cries Holy as heard on Robin Mark’s “Days of Elijah” CD)

or

The powerful “Be Unto Your Name” from that same album soars through the house and we worship Him… This precious song is also found on the very first Praise Baby DVD we ever owned: Praises and Smiles.

Finally- I am alone. Really alone. Children are in bed. Todd is at work. I play,

“When I wander through the desert and I’m longing for my home.

All my dreams have gone astray and I am tired and all alone.

It seems like I’ve lost my way.

I go running to Your mountain

where Your mercy sets me free.

You are my strong tower.

Shelter over me. Beautiful and mighty.

Everlasting King.

You are my strong tower.

 Fortress when I am weak.

Your name is true and holy.

Your face is all I seek…”

(From Strong Tower by Kutless)

This song is not for the faint of heart. But in a hard place- it speaks for me. And He is my Strong Tower.

Hear my cry, O God, listen to my prayer; from the ends of the earth I call to you when my heart is faint. Lead me to the rock that is higher than I, for you have been my refuge, a strong tower against the enemy. Let me dwell in your tent forever! Let me take refuge under the shelter of your wings! Psalm 61:1-4 ESV

Music: it is mighty. A precious gift from God. An opportunity for ministry.  A powerful friend in times of trouble. Let me not underestimate its power nor neglect to use this gift of ministry in my home, my life, with my family.

Note: My favorite CD’s ministering to children (and parents): “Hide “Em in Your Heart” by Steve Green and Seeds Family Worship. It is amazing how these help write the Word on heart and mind. I have come to realize anew how precious, vital, important, and “to be protected” this is. I pray you do too. ~Rebecca