A Refuge of Love; Refuge of Grace; Place of Rest

Shelter from the Storm, Comfort for the Weary, Nourishment for the Hungry, Water for the Thirsty, Healing for the Needy

Lighthouse in the Stormy Fog;Strong Fortress; Sweet, Warm Bed after Long Day; Love’s Tender Embrace

Refuge.

 

I am Learning To Run…

I have lately, suddenly realized that I have gotten it all wrong. Backwards. Why don’t I run to my Father? Why do I feel too tired to pray, to read?  Why, when the day is especially hard and difficult and I have stumbled my way through it, do I hide instead of come?  Or, why, when I awaken, still feeling like it is yesterday, tired and groggy, do I choose not to read and pray?  Startled, I realized that I was coming to God based on my works, my goodness, my ability. Of course, I was not coming!!!

But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved— and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is  not your own doing;  it is the gift of God,  not a result of works, so that no one may boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.Ephesians 2:4-10 ESV

In him and through faith in him, we may approach God with freedom and confidence. Ephesians 3:12 NIV

This performance based mentality of mind, “check it off my list” is why, at the end of my day, I am too tired to gather my things and meet with God.

But God

is the first place I should run in my tired, weakened, needy, weary state.

Because of Jesus…

He is Shelter from the Storm; A High Tower Against the Enemy; A Strong Father for Weary Child; A Gentle Yoke for Tired Shoulders; Ocean of Love and Grace; Strength to Endure. 

Refuge.

The Lord redeems the life of his servants;none of those who take refuge in him will be condemned.Psalm 34:22 ESV

He even promises me REST.

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.Matthew 11: 28-30 NIV

He is my Rest.  I should RUN to His Embrace and rest. If I am too weary to handle strong meat, my gentle Lord will give sweet, nourishing milk to strengthen those parts made weak.  Just as I nourish a sick, tired child- so shall my Lord nourish me. 

He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young. Isaiah 40:11 NIV

I am learning to run to the arms of my Father.