A Holy Trust: precious children.  My newest little one is just over eight months- and oh- how my heart has often been stirred these past few months toward the preciousness of children and the privilege/responsibility of caring for them.

From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. Psalm 8:2 NIV

My little one spent the first few months, nestled under my chin, cuddled into my comfy maroon rocker with me. We often sat- just so. And I loved it. I relished it. I joyed in it.  I bought the Willow Tree-Demdaco figurine: Angel of Mine before he was born. I would study it while I was pregnant. That tender mother holding her precious bundle.  And then he came- and there I was- holding him under my chin.

Tonight, I began the normal nightly ritual of brushing my two year old’s teeth. This mundane task that must be done every day…every. single. day. took on new light for me as he lifted his beautiful blue eyes to mine.  I am doing for him what he is too small to do for himself- and I am called to account for how I behave in this moment and others. While I can encourage myself that it won’t be long until he is doing this task for himself… and I know this little boy can’t wait for that day! I don’t want to waste the opportunity to walk in the Spirit and cherish God’s blessing wrapped up in this precious little boy.  I want to walk in the reality of this Holy Trust.

Every day I face these moments, day in and day out… the daily tasks of caring, correcting, training, teaching, feeding… bathing, dressing…

I am convicted anew of all those times when I have served myself, been selfish, and unfaithful to one of my little children whom I am called to shepherd and help toward the Savior- not hinder. Sin is such hindrance.

Therefore since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Hebrews 12:1 NIV

Even as I was typing this post my baby woke crying. I have a choice every single time. Will I promptly care for him? or will I selfishly delay.  This week- and for always, I am going to be more intentional in this area in the ministry of my home.  This is more poignant for me- as a mom to many little children. It is not just that precious first and second born who need me and call for me… no, my ministry stretches through six precious souls…and while my eight year old’s needs are vastly different than that tiny baby’s- they are still there and they still call to me to Be There , Be All There for him.

With little ones- too small to do for themselves- am I gentle? tender? kind? long- suffering?

Do I sense the sacredness of this moment and others? I do- I felt it keenly while bathing my newborn. I felt it keenly while brushing teeth tonight.  I pray my heart be always open to this truth- this truth that likes to become bogged down in footprints, and toy remnants, lost pencils, and bickering.

The King will reply, “I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.” Matthew 25:40 NIV

In some ways- little children can be “the least of these.” They are small. They are needy. In the beginning, they can do nothing for themselves (but melt your heart with their sweetness!) They are dependent. Do I realize when I offer that little child a glass of water, I am offering it to Him?  I am. I truly am.

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” Matthew 19:14 NIV