A little girl with long hair, dappled eyes, and a smile as radiant as the sunshine.

A little girl whose eyes were clear and unclouded; joy-filled and happy.

A little girl with a little wagon.

Little wagon.   Little wagon was broken. It simply wouldn’t go. The ride was bumpy, crooked, and hard- one of the wheels was askew.  No more smooth sensation of wheels gliding over pavement, no more easy, fluid ride where all you had to do was concentrate

on getting from one place t’other.  No- it was broken.

So-

she brought it to Daddy. 

Wonderfully free of concern. Totally confident. 

Of course he would fix it.  He was faithful, trustworthy, true.

She played out her happy childhood secure in his love, held in his care.

She handed it to him. “Fix it, please, Daddy.” 

Then off she danced, as light as a breeze, as unconcerned as a butterfly in Spring.  No cloud of concern crumpled her brow, no worry storm-tossed in her eyes. She knew. Fix it, he would.

And I wonder-

Is it that simple for me, too?

“Fix it, please, Daddy.”

And I hand Him my broken “wagon”- right into His lap.

Confident of His Love. Secure in His Care.

Never, never considering  that it might not be done. 

I give Him the wheel that I just can’t fix.  The road is so bumpy– the ride- so– not smooth. “Fix it, please, Daddy.”

I dance away happy. Leaving His presence:

 light as a butterfly, fluid as the breeze…

No need for worry, for pestering,

 or fear.

Trusting and carefree-

as happy

as confident

as she.

Matthew 18: And he said, “I tell you the truth, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” NIV

Matthew 11:30 “For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” NIV

1 Peter 5:7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. NIV